THE UNIVERSITY OF CRETE

GENERAL DESCRIPTION

The University of Crete, a public University hosted by the cities of Rethymno and Heraklion, was established in 1973 and started functioning in the academic year 1977-1978. The administrative seat of the University is in Rethymno. It hosts five Faculties and 17 Departments. They are the home of 13.085 students (11.414 undergraduates and 1.671 postgraduates) and 704 teaching and research staff members (537 tenure-tack and 167 temporary). It is known, both nationally and internationally, for its innovative approach to education, pioneering research activities and dynamism in international cooperation.

The University Campus in Rethymno is 150 hectares in size, located about 4 km from the city of Rethymno in the area of Gallos. Three of its Faculties - Philosophy, Education and Social Sciences - are located here, along with many of the University's Administrative Services and the Main Library.

The University is based on two campuses in Heraklion, about 80 km East of Rethymno. On the Knossos Avenue Campus, there are four of the seven Departments of the Faculty of Sciences and Engineering: the Departments of Mathematics, Computer Science, and Applied Mathematics. A number of Administrative Services and a branch of the Library are also housed on the Knossos Campus, which is 4 km south of Heraklion, very close to the archaeological site of Knossos. Over the next several years, the Departments of the Knossos Campus will gradually be relocated to the Campus in Voutes.

The Voutes Campus, some 10 km Southwest of the city of Heraklion, houses the other four Departments of the Faculty of Sciences and Engineering, ie. the Departments of Physics, Chemistry, Biology, and Materials Science and Technology. Also, here the Faculty of Medicine and the University Hospital are located. Two branches of the University Library, with services for the relevant disciplines, operate at Voutes. The Foundation for Research and Technology Hellas (FORTH), with which the University collaborates closely, is located close by.

ADMINISTRATIVE STRUCTURE

The University of Crete is governed by the University Senate, the Rector's Council, and the Rector.

University Senate. The composition of the Senate, as specified by Greek law, includes the Rector and the Vice-Rectors, the Deans of the Faculties, the Heads of the Departments, a student representative from each Department, two graduate student representatives, a representative of the Technical and Laboratory Teaching Staff, a representative of the Specialised Technical and Laboratory Staff, a representative of the Administrative Personnel, and representatives of the Academic Teaching and Research Staff.

Rector's Council. It consists of the Rector, the three Vice-Rectors, one representative of the administrative staff and one student representative chosen from and by the student representatives to the Senate, and the Academic Registar.

Rector. The Rector represents and governs the University, calls the Senate and the Rector's Council into session, sets the agenda and presides over their meetings, and sees that their resolutions are carried out. The Rector is assisted by the three Vice-Rectors: the Vice-Rector of Academic Affairs and Personnel, of Development and Financial Affairs, and of Infrastructure and Student Affairs. Their duties are specified by the Senate.