FACULTIES AND DEPARTMENTS

The University of Crete is organised into Faculties, which are composed of discipline based Departments. The Departments are the basic academic units of the University, and may be divided into Divisions representing a more specific area of an academic discipline. The table below shows all of the Faculties and disciplinary Departments of the University.

FACULTIES AND DEPARTMENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CRETE

FACULTIES IN RETHYMNO			FACULTIES IN HERAKLIO	
FACULTY OF PHILOSOPHY	FACULTY OF EDUCATION	FACULTY OF SOCIAL SCIENCES	FACULTY OF SCIENCES AND ENGINEERING	FACULTY OF MEDICINE
Department of Philology	Department of Primary Education	Department of Sociology	Department of Mathematics	Department of Of Department of Biology Department of Of Department of Department of Chemistry Department of Applied Mathematics Department of Materials Science
Department of History and Archaeology		Department of Economics	Department of Computer Science	
			·	
		Department of Phychology Department of	·	
_	Department of Preschool		-	
Department of Philosophy and Social Studies	Education			
		Political Science	Materials Science and Technology	

ECTS

The departments of the University of Crete have adopted the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS). This system facilitates the recognition of courses taken during study abroad and thus enhances the quality and volume of student mobility in Europe.